Editing Styles

Dear Blog,

I wanted to come up with my own style for Frankie Got The Junk’s drug montages, I had a fantastic soundtrack and two songs written specially for the film so I had to try and find a way to make the editing style unique. The go to editing style for drug montage sequences seems to be ‘Requiem for a Dream’ and I really wanted to avoid this, I needed to find a way to make FGTJ stand out. After a while I developed a way of editing where I would pull out the clips and leave blank spaces, revealing the black background of the timeline, I also started to layer clips on top of each other, this is a style I used in the trailers for the film, I started to develop it further and once I had it I started to research montage editing. So basically I did this process in  reverse. It was the only way to make sure I  wasn’t just copying a style from another film of the same subject matter.

There is an article which I have yet to track down about the amount of cuts in the average  feature film,  I started to realise that Frankie Got The Junk (which should arrive at between 30-45 mins in length) would end up having many more. I plan on taking a screenshot of the finished timeline at the end of this module to show exactly how complicated the edit has become.

Here are some of the pieces of research I acquired throughout this process.

Editing styles for montage

Videos

– I found this video in particular, very helpful and interesting.

http://www.masteringfilm.com/step-by-step-guide-to-montage-editing/

 

Joshua Adams

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

